Stop an Import Job from the Import Jobs Queue

If you stop a pending import job, no import processing occurs. If you stop a running import job, any records that may have already been processed are not affected. This may mean that some records have been processed, and others have not, resulting in an incomplete record set and report. You cannot “roll back” records already imported, and stopped jobs cannot be restarted. If you stop a blacked out import job, only those records that have not been imported are affected; any records already imported before the blackout time are not affected.

To stop an import job from the Import Jobs Queue:

Important:
If you have permission to do importing (either Import bibliographic, item and authority records: Allow or Express importing: Allow), you can stop or delete your own import jobs from the Import Jobs Queue. However, to stop or delete import jobs initiated by other staff members, you need the permission Manage import jobs for this organization: Allow for the system or branch organization where the job was initiated. Staff members who require control over importing for multiple (or all) branches must be granted the Manage import jobs for this organization: Allow permission at the system level.

  1. Select Utilities > Importing > Import Jobs Queue.

The Import Jobs Queue dialog box displays the details for each import job.

  1. Before stopping an import job, refresh the Import Jobs Queue to make sure you are seeing the most recent status of the files.
  2. Select the import job, and click the Stop button in the toolbar, or right-click, and select Stop from the context menu.

A message informs you that the stopped import job cannot be restarted and asks you to confirm that you want to stop the import job.

  1. Click Yes to stop the import.